Logo: University of Southern California

Two Mork Department Professors Win Honors

Viterbi School Petroleum Engineer and Viterbi Materials Scientist Recognized by Top Organizations in their Disciplines

October 31, 2005 —
Iraj Ershaghi and Florian Mansfeld, both professors in the USC Viterbi School of Engineering's The Mork Family Department of

Florian Mansfeld
Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, have both won prestigious honors from professional societies in their specialities.
Ershghi is a 2005 recipient of a Regional Service Award from the Society of Petroleum Engineers. Mansfeld will receive the Vittorio de Nora Award  from the  Electrochemical Society at the group's spring 2006 meeting.
“It is a pleasure to congratulate Iraj and Florian on their well-deserved recognition,” said Mork department chair Theodore Tsotsis.

Iraj Ershaghi
The SPE award “acknowledges exceptional contributions to the Society of Petroleum Engineers at the section or regional level and recognizes singular devotion of time and effort to the programs and development of the member's section and region that set it apart from the services rendered each year by many members of the Society,” according to its official description.

  A maximum of three such awards are made in any given year per region. Ershaghi’s is for the Western North America region.

Ershaghi holds the Omar B. Milligan chair in the Mork Family Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science. He heads the department’s petroleum engineering program and is also Executive director of the Chevron–USC Center for Smart Oilfield Technologies (CiSoft) at USC. He is also director of the West Coast Region Petroleum Technology Transfer Council, which is headquartered in the Mork department.

The  Electrochemical Society's  de Nora award, established in 1971, is awarded in alternate years to recognize "outstanding contributions to engineering and technology directed toward the utilization of electrochemical phenomena and processes," and carries with it a gold medal, a bronze plaque, and a $7500 honorarium.

Mansfeld, who has been at USC since 1985  and who chaired the Materials Science Department for nine years before it was merged with the Chemical Engineering Department, was named a fellow of the Electrochemical Society in 1995 .