Logo: University of Southern California

Dean and Provost Go to Washington - for Induction into the NAE

Alumna Wanda Austin and Board of Councilors member Alexis Livanos also join the elite national advisory body

October 09, 2008 — USC Viterbi School of Engineering Dean Yannis C. Yortsos was inducted into the National Academy of Engineering in a ceremony in Washington, D.C. on October 5.

Election to the academy is the highest professional distinction that can be accorded an engineer. “This is a great day for USC, for USC engineering and for two of USC’s finest leaders,” said President Steven B. Sample, himself a member of the academy, when their honors were announced earlier this year.
QualComm chair Irwin Jacobs, Dean Yannis C. Yortsos and Charles M . Vest, president of the NAE.

Yortsos, a chemical engineer, the Chester F. Dolley Professor of Petroleum Engineering and holder of the Zohrab Kaprielian Dean’s Chair, was cited for fundamental advances in fluid flow, transport and reactions in porous media applied to the recovery of subsurface resources.

Prior to becoming dean, he was senior associate dean for academic affairs and was chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering from 1991 to 1997.

USC Executive Vice President and Provost C. L. Max Nikias and two executives with close Viterbi School ties joined the academy in the same ceremony.

Nikias, a former Viterbi School dean, was cited for contributions to the development and diverse applications of adaptive signal processing and for leadership in engineering education.

Wanda M. Austin, president and CEO of the Aerospace Corp., who earned a Ph.D. from the School in 1988, was cited for leadership in the engineering and integration of national space intelligence systems.

Alexis Livanos, president of space technology for Northrop Grumman and a member of the school’s board of councilors, was cited for contributions to the development and insertion of advanced semiconductor technology for commercial and government space systems.