Logo: University of Southern California

SUNY Buffalo to Honor Provost Nikias

March 03, 2008 —
C.L. Max Nikias
USC Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, C. L. “Max” Nikias, will be honored with the Clifford C. Furnas Award by the State University of New York at Buffalo Alumni Association. The Furnas award is presented to engineering, natural sciences or mathematics alumni who have distinguished themselves in a field of science.

Nikias received his MS degree in 1980 and his PhD in 1982, both in electrical engineering, from SUNY Buffalo when USC President Steven B. Sample was serving as president of SUNY Buffalo (1982 to 1999) before coming to USC. Sample, describing him as a “visionary and innovative scholar and an energetic and inspiring leader,” chose Nikias, then dean of the Viterbi School, to become USC Provost in June 2005.

Internationally recognized for pioneering research on digital communications and signal processing, digital media systems and biomedicine, Nikias is a fellow of the IEEE, the California Council on Science and Technology, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He is the recipient of the 2008 IEEE Simon Ramo Medal. This year, he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering

The Furnas Award will be presented at a gala to be held in Buffalo on April 5 by SUNY Buffalo President John B. Simpson and Alumni Association President Marc A. Adler. Past Furnas awardees include Christopher Scolese (2007), chief engineer for NASA, and Hatim A.Tyabji (2004), chairman of DataCard Group and ByteMobile, Inc.