Logo: University of Southern California

ACM Names Two Viterbi School Professors "Distinguished Members"

"Commitment to technology and a passion for progress ... we celebrate their entrepreneurial and creative spirit for the way it has changed our lives"
February 05, 2009 —

Craig Knoblock and Massoud Pedram are among 37 computer scientists recognized by the Association for Computing Machinery for "their individual contributions to both the practical and theoretical aspects of computing and information technology."

“These prominent men and women originate from many parts of the computing field, but they have in common a commitment to technology and a passion for progress,” said Dame Wendy Hall, president of ACM in the February 5 announcement of the 2008 group of Distinguished Members.  “Their respective contributions to computing drive innovations that determine the economic and social developments that, in turn, sustain competitiveness in the global arena.  Their achievements touch virtually every industry in the world, and we celebrate their entrepreneurial and creative spirit for the way it has changed our lives.”

Distinguished membership, according to the ACM website, "is a member grade recognizing up to 10% of the top ACM members, with at least 15 years of professional experience that had significant accomplishments or impact in the computing field." Of the 37 2008 Distinguished Members, 18 are in academia.

Knoblock is a senior project leader at the Viterbi School's Information Sciences Institute and a Research Professor in its department of computer science, An expert in networks specializing in constructing and accessing geographical information, he has been the advisor to 11 Viterbi graduate students who have received PhD degrees.


A graduate of Carnegie Mellon University (PhD 1991), Knoblock is now chief scientist of two startup companies, Fetch Technologies and Geosemble Technologies.

Massoud Pedram, who also received his PhD  in 1991 (in Electrical Engineering, from UC Berkeley), has been on the faculty of the Viterbi School's Ming Hsieh department of electrical engineering, where he is now a professor, since leaving UCB. He works in the field of computer engineering, specializing in power management, design automation, and nano-technology and non-CMOS technologies. 

He is a fellow of the IEEE, and served as an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems and the ACM Transactions on Design Automation of Electronic Systems. He received the 2000 Distinguished Service Award of ACM - SIGDA for contributions in developing the SIGDA Multimedia Monograph Series and organizing the Young Student Support Program.