Logo: University of Southern California

Sanjit Mitra Wins Athanasios Papoulis Award

An internationally reputed scholar in analog and digital signal and image processing has won a prestigious engineering education award.

February 04, 2009 —

Sanjit Mitra, the Stephen and Etta Varra Professor in the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering and an internationally reputed scholar in analog and digital signal and image processing, has won the Athanasios Papoulis Award for Excellence in Engineering Technology Education from the European Association for Signal Processing (EURASIP).  

S. Mitra Cropped
Sanjit Mitra

The Athanasios Papoulis Award honors scientists whose work has had a major impact on signal processing education. The award is offered only on demand, every time there is an exceptional candidate, rather than on a regular basis.

Mitra, who is associated with the department’s Signal and Image Processing Institute (SIPI), will be recognized for “contributions to research and education in signal processing.”

“We are very pleased to learn of this new honor for Professor Sanjit Mitra," said Hsieh Department Electrical Engineering-Systems Chair Alexander “Sandy” Sawchuk. “This award recognizes his many exceptional accomplishments in engineering education and research.  Our department joins me in congratulating him for this EURASIP award."

Mitra is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) and a member of several foreign academies. Shortly after joining USC in 2006, he won the prestigious James H. Mulligan, Jr. IEEE Education Medal. The award was immediately followed by the Signal Processing Education Award, honoring educators who have made pioneering and significant contributions in the field.

Among his many other honors, Mitra received the American Society for Engineering Education's 1973 F. E. Terman Award; the 1985 AT&T Foundation Award of the American Society of Engineering Education; the 1989 Education Award and 2000 Mac Van Valkenburg Society Award of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society; and the 1989 Distinguished Senior U.S. Scientist Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation of Germany.  He also received the 1996 Technical Achievement Award and the 2001 Society Award of the IEEE Signal Processing Society.

Mitra will accept the Athanasios Papoulis Award at the Conference Banquet of the EUSIPCO 2009 Conference, to be held in Glasgow, Scotland, Aug. 24-28, 2009.