Logo: University of Southern California

In Rechtin Lecture, USCB Chancellor Discusses Steven B. Sample's International Legacy

Henry T. Yang explored the USC President's role in founding the Association of Pacific Rim Universities

April 18, 2010 —

Introduced by James Moore, chair of the Viterbi School's Epstein Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Henry T. Yang delivered the fourth Eberhardt Rechtin Lecture April 15.

2010 Rechtin 3
Henry Yang with USC Provost and President-Elect Max Nikias
Yang, Chancellor of the University of Southern California Santa Barbara, took as his topic "International Collaboration - A Reflection on the Creation of the Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU) by Steven Sample."

Yang offered thoughts on industrial and systems engineering in addition to his analysis of USC President Sample'e important APRU role.

"This Association is one of the countless legacies Steve has given us," said Yang. "Without a doubt, it was his bold vision and his energetic devotion that led to its formation and ultimately ensured its success."

APRU is a consortium of 42 leading research universities in the Pacific Rim, and aims to foster cooperation in education, research and enterprise for the economic, scientific and cultural advancement of the Pacific Rim. Its first annual meeting took place in Los Angeles in 1997.

Previous Rechtin Lecturers include Dr. Richard K. Miller President of Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering, who spoke on "What Does Every Engineer Need to Know--Now?" in 2009; Dr. Wanda Austin CEO of The Aerospace Corporation, on "The Human Factor: Managing Technical Complexity and Creativity in the 21st Century" in 2008, and Louis Martin Vega, who gave the first Rechtin Lecture in 2007, speaking on  "Industrial Engineering in the 21st Century: Challenges and Opportunities"

Click on the image to view a video of the lecture
Henry T. Yang joined UC Santa Barbara as chancellor and professor of mechanical engineering in 1994. He teaches an undergraduate engineering course every year, and is currently guiding four Ph.D. students with support from National Science Foundation grants. He was formerly the Neil A. Armstrong Distinguished Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Purdue University, where he also served as the dean of engineering for ten years, and as director of the Computer Integrated Design, Manufacturing, and Automation Center.

Dr. Yang has authored or co-authored more than 170 articles for scientific journals, served as P.I. or co-P.I. for 32 sponsored research grants, guided 52 Ph.D. theses, and received 13

2010 Rechtin 9
Epstein Department Chair James Moore introduced the Chancellor
outstanding undergraduate teaching awards, including an honorary distinguished teaching award from UCSB’s Academic Senate. His book Finite Element Structural Analysis, published by Prentice-Hall, has been adopted by many universities and has also been published in Japanese and Chinese editions.

He has served on scientific advisory boards for various government agencies. He is currently a member of the National Academy of Engineering’s Aerospace Engineering Peer Committee, the Kavli Foundation Board, and the Millennium Technology Prize Selection Committee, and is chairman of the board for the Thirty Meter Telescope project. In 2009 he was appointed to the President’s Committee for the National Medal of Science.

Dr. Yang has received a number of recognitions for his research, teaching, and public service, including the Benjamin Garver Lamme gold medal from the American Society of Engineering Education and five honorary doctorates. In 2008, he was awarded the AIAA Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Materials Award. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of AIAA, ASEE, and ASME.