Logo: University of Southern California

Viterbi Faculty Win Professional Recognition

Melvin Breuer, Leana Golubchik, Norberto Grzywacz, and Terence Langdon recognized
lisa heckaman
March 04, 2011 —

Sherman Oaks CA Chapter Engineers Council, Engineer of the Year Award
Recipient: Melvin A. Breuer
Melvin A. Breuer, the Charles Lee Powell Professor of Computer Engineering and Electrical Engineering in the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering, has won the Engineer of the Year award from the Sherman Oaks, CA Chapter of the Engineers’ Council. A pioneer in CAD for digital systems and very-large-scale-integrated circuits, Breuer was presented with the award during the Councils’ 56th annual banquet on February 26. The event was concurrent with and in celebration of National Engineers Week. Astronaut Cady Coleman and NASA colleagues congratulated the Council from the International Space Station. “In many areas, recognition of engineering professionals is occurring at celebrations that highlight their many contributions to making our world a better place. We appreciate what you do every day to keep us safe up here, to keep our families secure at home, to contribute to the economic vitality of our nation, and to make technological progress for the benefit of all people on Earth.”
Women’s Transportation Seminar-Los Angeles Diversity Leadership Award
Recipient: Leana Golubchik
The Los Angeles Chapter of the Women’s Transportation Seminar (WTS) has presented Leana Golubchik its 2011 Diversity Leadership Award at the February WTS Board meeting. Golubchik, an associate professor with joint appointments in the Hsieh and Computer Science departments, was selected for significant contributions to the promotion of diversity and cultural awareness within the Viterbi School, “in the transportation industry, and in a project or activity that supports the goals and mission of WTS.” Golubchik has been an active member of the USC Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE) program since she joined the Viterbi School in 2002, and was recently appointed its director.  In addition, Golubchik has continued her efforts to build this representation university-wide.

Council of Chairs in Biomedical Engineering and Bioengineering Elected Secretary
Recipient: Norberto Grzywacz
Professor Norberto Grzywacz, the Dwight C. and Hildagarde E. Baum Chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, was recently elected secretary of the Council of Chairs (COC) of Biomedical and Bioengineering (BME/BE). Formed in 1990, during an NSF-sponsored meeting on biomedical engineering education, the top national organization in the fields of BME/BE administration convenes to discuss problems of administration and lobby for the fields. The COC is an independent body that is primarily focused on issues related to undergraduate curriculum. The core membership of the COC consists of ABET-accredited programs. Grzywacz is also director of both the USC Center for Vision Science and Technology and the BME Visual Processing Laboratory.


Materials Research Society Elected Fellow
Recipient: Terence Langdon
Terence Langdon, the William E. Leonhard Professor of Engineering in the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (AME) and one of the most cited authors worldwide in materials science, has been elected a Fellow of the Materials Research Society (MRS). Election to the MRS honors those distinguished scholars whose accomplishments have contributed greatly to the advancement of materials research. The maximum number of new Fellow appointments each year is limited to 0.2% of the current MRS membership. “Terry Langdon continues to lead the way in highlighting our strengths in metals research. We are delighted for him in this recognition of his achievements,” said AME professor and department chair Geoffrey Spedding. Langdon will be honored at the MRS Spring Meeting in San Francisco on Tuesday, April 26th 2011.