Logo: University of Southern California

January 9, 2014: USC Alumni Association to Honor USC Viterbi School of Engineering Graduate and Benefactor Daniel J. Epstein at the 81st Annual USC Alumni Awards

Press Release
CONTACT: Denise Lopez - (213) 740-0904 or denise.lopez@usc.edu
January 09, 2014 —

Daniel J. Epstein ’62 is one of eight Trojans to be honored at the 81st Annual USC Alumni Awards on April 26, 2014, at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel in downtown Los Angeles.

A member of the USC Viterbi School of Engineering Board of Councilors and benefactor of the school’s Daniel J. Epstein Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Epstein will receive the Asa V. Call Alumni Achievement Award, the university’s highest alumni honor, which recognizes alumni who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to the university and the community by giving generously of their time, energy, and leadership. A university trustee and member of the USC Lusk Center for Real Estate Development executive committee, Epstein is the founder and chairman of the board of the ConAm Group of Companies, one of the top apartment management/ownership firms in the country, with a portfolio of approximately 50,000 fee-managed and company-owned apartments. His many honors include a USC Alumni Service Award (2008) and USC Viterbi School of Engineering Alumnus of the Year (1994). In 1999, Ernst & Young named him San Diego’s Entrepreneur of the Year for the Real Estate Industry.

In addition to Epstein, the USC Alumni Association will recognize seven other Trojans for their achievements and contributions to USC. Ronnie Lott ’81, NFL Hall of Famer and four-time Super Bowl champion; Bob Osher ’81, Sony Pictures Digital Productions president and former Columbia Motion Pictures Group COO; and Gail Samuel ’88, MBA’02, Los Angeles Philharmonic Association COO, will receive Alumni Merit Awards. Aja Brown ’04, MPL’05, the youngest mayor in the history of Compton, California, will receive the Young Alumni Merit. Michael A. Felix ’83, USC Latino Alumni Association Corporate Council Advisory Board member; Jana Waring Greer ’73, USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences Board of Councilors chair; and Christine Ofiesh ’74, Town and Gown of USC executive board member, will receive Alumni Service Awards.

Every year since 1932, the USC Alumni Association has paid tribute to distinguished members of the Trojan Family. The annual Alumni Awards gala is the premier event sponsored by the USC Alumni Association. Past honorees include Apollo 11 astronaut Neil Armstrong ’70, world-renowned architect Frank O. Gehry ’54, opera great Marilyn Horne ’53 and Academy Award-winning filmmaker Robert Zemeckis ’73. All proceeds from the event support the USC Alumni Association’s programs and services. For more information, please visit http://alumni.usc.edu/awards/.

This press release is available on the USC Alumni Association website.

About the USC Alumni Association
The USC Alumni Association’s mission is to support the overall advancement of the University of Southern California by engaging all alumni for life, building a culture of philanthropy among the Trojan Family, and being the representative voice for all USC alumni.
The USC Alumni Association annually hosts hundreds of events and programs around the world, and provides benefits and services to all USC alumni. With more than 340,000 members worldwide, the USC Alumni Association supports more than 100 affiliated alumni clubs, alumnae support groups and multicultural and generational alumni communities. These groups collectively distribute nearly four million dollars each year in scholarships for USC students. The 2013-14 USC Alumni Association Board of Governors president is Ramona Cappello ’81 and USC’s Associate Senior Vice President for Alumni Relations is Patrick E. Auerbach EdD ’08.

Denise Lopez at (213) 740-0904 or denise.lopez@usc.edu


Daniel J. Epstein